Pawan Varma, Nitish Kumar, Prashant Kishor (file photo).

Patna: As widely expected, after nearly a month-long ugly spat between former political wunderkind Prashant Kishor, his lone supporter and former Rajya Sabha member Pavan Varma and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, both Kishor and Varma were kicked out of the party on Wednesday for engaging in 'anti-party activities'.

Friend-turned-foe Nitish Kumar and Prashant Kishore.

Patna: After today, it is all but a matter of time before Prashant Kishor, once considered a gold standard in the Indian political game of strategy and shrewd maneuvering, is shown the exit door of the Janata Dal-U for daring to criticize the judgment of his boss.

Muslim students in Patna (file photo).

Patna: An alleged dry run to see if a ban on burqa in a college will work or not backfired in a big way after students of the JD Women's College held protest both outside the college and on social media calling the decision 'discriminatory' against Muslim students forcing the officials to recall the ban before it could even go into effect.

Sushil Modi, Prashant Kishore.

Patna: Refusing to be intimidated by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Sushil Kumar Modi on the issue of Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and National Registration of Citizens (NRC), Janata Dal-U leader and political strategist Prashant Kishor fired back at the Deputy Chief Minister saying he did not need a character certificate from him when Modi's own political history was checkered with contradictions showing a lack of conviction.

Nitish loses temper over Pavan Varma's letter to him.

Patna: Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, at a press conference in Patna on Friday, continued to rail against his own party leader and national vice president Pavan Varma who earlier spoke against him on the issue of Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and National Registration of Citizens (NRC) that has ruffled the feathers of the Chief Minister and other Janata Dal-U leaders.

Illegal encroachment at Patna Medical College and Hospital.

Patna: The Patna High Court on Friday send a directive to all government medical colleges in Bihar ordering them to remove illegal encroachment from the college and hospital campuses by February 6 or be prepared to face the music.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar at a recent Jal Jeevan Hariyali campaign in Bihar.

Patna: Despite the growing suspicion of Nitish Kumar and his trusted aide Prashant Kishor engaging in the proverbial good cop-bad cop routine with the former going the whole hog over the BJP-championed Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and National Registration of Citizens (NRC) and the latter holding a diametrically opposing view, Kumar fired back at his own party leaders who have begun questioning his stand on the controversial issue that has split the nation in half.

JD-U leader and strategist Prashant Kishor (file photo).

Patna: Not backing down under pressure from both his boss Nitish Kumar and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaderAmit Shah, Janata Dal-U leader Prashant Kishor on Wednesday dared the Home Minister to implement Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and National Registration of Citizens (NRC) nationwide if he thought it will have no repercussion in its aftermath.

Pharmacies close in Patna due to strike.

Patna: The three-day strike called by Bihar Chemist and Druggist Association (BCDA) came to an end on the very first day of the strike on Wednesday after the Association president held a meeting with Sanjay Kumar, the secretary of the Bihar Health Department, who assured them of giving a fair hearing to their longstanding demands.

Amit Shah in Vaishali on Thursday.

Patna: India's Home Minister Amit Shah, speaking at a public rally in Vaishali on Thursday, tried to assuage a crowd saying no one had anything to fear about the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) as it was all about including people and not about excluding anyone or any particular community.

Air Ambulance service launched from Patna Airport.

Patna: The first ever Air Ambulance of the nation opened at the Patna Airport on Thursday offering 24x7 service to those in urgent medical need requiring treatment at hospitals in Delhi or Kolkata.

Auto rickshaws in Patna.

Patna: In an attempt to curtail pollution in the state capital, Patna aims to convert all 15,000 auto-rickshaws into CNG-fueled vehicles within a year, Bihar Auto Union secretary Navin Mishra said.

View Your Patna

Due to worldwide coronavirus pandemic, PatnaDaily is running in a restricted mode as our reporters and photographers remain indoor due to nationwide lockdown. We will resume full service as soon as possible. Stay indoors and stay safe.
Toggle Bar

Latest Comments