RJD, Congress Work Out Seat Equation in Bihar Special Elections

Congress leader Kaukab Qadri and RJD leader Tejaswi Yadav in Patna on Thursday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: After squabbling for days over sharing of seats in the upcoming special elections in Bihar, an agreement was reached between the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Congress Party in the state with the RJD agreeing to drop its claim on Bhabhua assembly seat while agreeing to contest on the two seats in Araria and Jehanabad.

In a joint press conference in Patna on Thursday, Congress acting state President Kaukab Qadri and Tejaswi Yadav, the RJD leader in-charge in the absence of Lalu Prasad Yadav, said that after consulting with the party seniors, it was decided the Congress would contest on the Bhabhua seat while RJD will field its candidates in Araria, a Lok Sabha seat; and Jehanabad, an Assembly seat.

It may be recalled that special election in Araria was necessitated following the death of senior RJD leader Mohammed Taslimuddin. His son and former Janata Dal – U leader Sarfaraz Alam, who was suspended from the party following allegations of misbehavior and sexual misconduct in a running train in 2016, is poised to get the RJD ticket from his father's seat.

Suday Yadav, son of late Mundrika Singh Yadav, a senior RJD leader, was chosen to contest from the Jehanabad Assembly seat, RJD leaders said.

Both Yadav and Qadri expressed their confidence in sweeping all three seats where Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will be fielding its yet to be named candidates.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's JD-U has decided to stay away from the polls this cycle.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments

Guest Columns, Features, Lifestyle, Blog