ABVP Sweeps PUSU Election; Independent Candidate Elected President

PUSU President elect and independent candidate Divyanshu Bhardwaj.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Sending a strong message to the leftists, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the students' wing of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), swept the Patna University Students' Union (PUSU) election the result of which was announced on Saturday just hours after polling was concluded at various colleges under Patna University.

Besides the ABVP, only other party to score success in the PUSU polls was Jan Adhikar Party (JAP) that snatched away the Joint Secretary's post from the hands of ABVP by a narrow margin of 150 votes.

However, the biggest prize went to Divyanshu Bhardwaj, former ABVP member who turned independent after failing to get the party's nomination for the post of PUSU President.

Bhardwaj scored victory over his nearest rival and JAP candidate Gautam Anand by a margin of 112 votes. While Bhardwaj received 1862 votes, Anand had to settle with 1750 votes.

ABVP also grabbed the Vice President's post as its candidate Yoshita Patwardhan defeated her nearest rival Anushka Arya of All India Students' Federation (AISF) with a margin of 915 votes. While Patwardhan received 1765 votes, her rival had to settle with 915 votes.

For the post of General Secretary, once again ABVP's Sudhanshu Jha scored victory over independent candidate Manish Yadav by a margin of 173 votes. While the former received 1641 votes, the latter lost his bid with 1468 votes in his column.

JAP candidate Asjad Chand defeated ABVP nominee Rajiv Ranjan for the post of Joint Secretary. Chand received 1545 votes against Ranjan's 1395 votes.

For the Treasurer post, ABVP's Nitish Kumar defeated All India Students' Association (AISA) candidate Danish Rizwan by a margin of 213 votes. While Patel got 1206 votes, Rizwan had to be satisfied with 993 votes.

Candidates representing the students' wing of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and all leftist parties like National Students' Union of India (NSUI), AISF, AISA failed to win even a single seat.


View Your Patna

Due to worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, PatnaDaily is running in a restricted mode as our reporters and photographers remain indoor due to the recent nationwide lock-down. We will resume full service as soon as possible. Stay safe and thanks for your patience.
Toggle Bar

Latest Comments