Ashok Chowdhary, Three Other Congress Leaders Quit Party, Will Join JD-U

Soon-to-be-former Congress leader Ashok Kumar Chowdhary (file photo).

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: While Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) leader and brief Chief Minister of Bihar Jitan Ram Manjhi was meeting with his new friends in the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) after walking out of the NDA on Wednesday, another group of disgruntled politicians was making its own move to gain some foothold in the fast-changing political landscape of Bihar.

Former Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee (BPCC) President and the state Health Minister in the previous Grand Alliance government in Bihar Ashok Kumar Chowdhary, along with three other Congress legislators on late Wednesday evening, resigned from the Congress Party and announced their decision to join the Nitish-led Janata Dal – U in the coming days.

The other three legislators to side with Chowdhary are Dilip Kumar Chowdhary, Ramchandra Bharti, and Tanveer Akhtar, reports said.

Chowdhary also wrote a letter to the Bihar Legislative Council Deputy Chairperson Haroon Rashid to recognize his group as a separate entity from the Congress Party in the state legislative council.

Wasting no time, Chowdhary's successor Kaukab Qadri, announced the party's decision to expel Chowdhay and the other three saying they were expelled from the party for indulging in anti-party activities.

Chowdhary was the BPCC Prsident between April 2013 and September 2017. He was sacked from his party post by Congress chief Sonia Gandhi in the aftermath of the collapse of Mahagathbandhan government in Bihar. Siding with Kumar's decision, he became a vocal critic of the RJD leaders who were facing a barrage of corruption charges that ultimately led Chief Minister Nitish Kumar to break the alliance and go back to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA in Bihar.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments