Patna: In what is being billed as the first real test for both the NDA and the Lalu-led Grand Alliance since Nitish Kumar pulled out of the company of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Congress last July, voters in three districts went to polls on Sunday to elect leaders from a host of candidates representing all major parties in Bihar.

Polls at all three constituencies were reported to be peaceful though due to complaints of malfunctioning Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), repolling has been announced for 23 booths in Bhabhua.

Repolling is to be held on March 13.

In Araria where election was necessitated following the death of RJD MP Mohammed Taslimuddin, the voters' turnout was said to be 57 percent. In Bhabhua, turnout was 54.03% and in Jehanabad a little over 50% showed up to cast their ballots, Chief Electoral Officer Ajay Nayak said.

Sarfaraz Alam, the son of Taslimuddin is locked in a battle with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Pradeep Singh.

In Bhabhua, Rinki Rani, wife of late Anand Bhushan Pandey whose death forced special election for his seat, is expected to coast to victory against her nearest rival and Congress candidate Shambhu Singh Patel.

In Jehanabad, RJD candidate Kumar Krishna Mohan, who is contesting from his father's seat Mundrika Singh Yadav, is pitched against Janata Dal – U's Abhiram Sharma.

Votes are to be counted on March 14.

Recent Comments