RJD Candidates from Jehanabad, Araria Win Special Elections; BJP Wins from Bhabhua

RJD leaders celebrate poll victories in Patna on Wednesday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leaders in Patna were ecstatic on Wednesday when two of their candidates were declared winners in the last week's special elections held at three seats in Bihar with the third one going to the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate.

RJD's candidate for the Araria Lok Sabha seat Sarfaraz Alam, the son of late RJD leader Mohammed Taslimuddin; and Suday Yadav, the party candidate for the assembly seat from Jehanabad and the son of late RJD leader Mundrika Singh Yadav, emerged victorious over their nearest rivals at both seats.

While Alam defeated BJP rival Pradip Kumar Singh by over 60,000 votes in Araria, Sudesh Yadav delivered a similar blow to Abhiram Sharma, the Janata Dal – U candidate from Jehanabad by defeating him with a margin of about 35,000 votes.

BJP Bihar Assembly candidate from Bhabhua Rinki Pandey, the widow of Anand Bhushan Pandey whose untimely death created the vacancy, won over Congress candidate Shambhu Nath Patel by a margin of 14,000 votes.

All three winners had the sympathy votes going in their favor following the deaths of fathers of two RJD candidates and husband of one BJP candidate.

Congress candidate Patel was the only one who was not filling in for any of his family members thus losing the battle to Pandey.

It may be recalled that Alam was a member of the JD-U until he was kicked out of the party after allegations of him misbehaving with a couple on a running train emerged early in 2016. He joined the RJD just few weeks before the special elections.

The results, however, will not affect the the number in either the Parliament or in the State Assembly.

Celebration among the RJD leaders broke out outside the Assembly Bhawan where party leaders fed sweets and applied 'gulal' on each other's' face.

"The result has proven that the countdown of the demise of NDA in Bihar has begun," said RJD legislator and General Secretary Bhola Yadav.

NDA leaders shrugged off the results saying winning candidates won on sympathy wave and was not a mandate on Chief Minister Nitish Kumar or the NDA administration in Bihar.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments