Nitish, Modi among Seven to File Nomination Papers for Legislative Council

NDA leaders filing their nomination papers for Legislative Council in Patna on Monday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Seven candidates of the NDA, including Janata Dal – U leader and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, filed their nomination papers for the 11 seats of the Legislative Council elections in Bihar.

Besides the CM and Deputy CM, Bihar Health Minister Mangal Pandey, Sanjay Paswan, and Rameshwar Mehta – all of BJP; Khalid Anwar of Janata Dal – U, and Prem Chandra Mishra of Congress also filed their nomination papers on Monday.

Today was the last day to file the nomination papers and since the four Grand Alliance candidates, including Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader and former Chief Minister Rabri Devi, had already filed their nomination papers last Friday, the election is now merely a formality as all candidates are expected to sail through victory in the absence of any challenger.

Election is to be held on April 19.

Grand Alliance candidates filing their nomination papers last Friday.Grand Alliance candidates filing their nomination papers last Friday.

Besides Rameshwar Mehta and Khalid Anwar, who are in the fray for the first time in their political career, all others who filed their nomination papers today have been elected many times in the past.

For the Grand Alliance, besides Rabri Devi, others who also filed their nomination papers include RJD state President Ram Chandra Purvey, Santosh Manjhi (son of former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi), and freshman Syed Khurshid Mohammed Mohsin

Interestingly, JD-U candidate Khalid Ansari was one of the many Muslim leaders who had organized yesterday's 'Deen Bachao, Desh Bachao' rally against the Modi government at the Center at Patna's Gandhi Maidan on Sunday.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments

Guest Columns, Features, Lifestyle, Blog