Bihar to Hand Over Three Power Plants to NTPC

Bihar government signs agreement with NTPC to manage three power plants in Bihar.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: The Nitish government in Bihar on Tuesday signed a memorandum of understanding with the National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) under which the Bihar government would hand over three of its power plants to the NTPC for production, upkeep, and maintenance for a period of 30 years.

The plants being transferred to the NTPC include the Barauni Thermal Power Station, Kanti power plant, and Nabinagar power plant.

The MoU was signed between the Bihar State Power Generation Company Ltd Managing Director R Lakshmanan and NTPC Director (Commercial) A K Gupta. Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was also present on the occasion.

It was on April 17 that the state cabinet had approved the transfer of the three plants to NTPC.

Later at a meeting, Energy Department Principal Secretary Pratyay Amrit said the move will save the state an estimated Rs. 875.06 crore annually which would then be used to provide cheaper and continuous power to the people of Bihar.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments