BJP-JDU Reach Seat Sharing Agreement in Bihar

Nitish Kumar and Amit Shah (file photo).

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

New Delhi: After weeks of speculations and unsubstantiated reports, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Janata Dal – U on Friday reached an agreement on seat-sharing with both sharing equal number of seats in Bihar in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Following a meeting of Bihar Chief Minister and JD-U President Nitish Kumar and BJP national president Amit Shah in Delhi on Friday, the two leaders issued a joint statement saying the two parties will be allotted equal number of seats while leaving respectable number of seats for Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Upendra Kushwaha-led Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) – the other two allies of the NDA in Bihar.

"The BJP and JDU will fight on equal number of seats in Bihar while other allies will also get a respectable number of seats," Shah said at a joint press conference on Friday.

The two leaders, however, did not talk about the number of seats they would share saying that would be announced in the coming days.

"Both Paswan and Kushwaha will remain part of the alliance. However, if we get any new ally in Bihar, we will adjust the seats accordingly," the BJP leader said.

It may be noted that Bihar has a total of 40 Lok Sabha seats.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments