Lok Sabha Poll Dates Announced; to be Held in Seven Phases

Bihar officials taking part in a training program involving electronic voting machines (EVM) at Hindi Bhawan in Patna last Thursday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday announced the dates of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections for 543 seats that would be held in seven phases starting on April 11 and culminating on May 19.

Following is a list of dates and number of seats going to poll in Bihar (within parenthesis):

Phase 1 – April 11 (4 seats)
Phase 2 – April 18 (5 seats)
Phase 3 – April 23 (5 seats)
Phase 4 – April 29 (5 seats)
Phase 5 – May 6 (5 seats)
Phase 6 – May 12 (8 seats)
Phase 7 – May 19 (8 seats)

Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, and Odisha will be held simultaneously.

The results of all polls will be announced on May 23, Chief Election Commission Sunil Arora said in Delhi.

The term of the current Lok Sabha ends on June 3.

With the announcement of the poll dates on Sunday, the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) goes into effect immediately.


View Your Patna

Due to worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, PatnaDaily is running in a restricted mode as our reporters and photographers remain indoor due to the recent nationwide lock-down. We will resume full service as soon as possible. Stay safe and thanks for your patience.
Toggle Bar

Latest Comments