BJP Likely to Announce Names of Candidates in Bihar on Friday

Shatrughan Sinha and Ravi Shankar Prasad (Photo: PatnaDaily.Com)

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced the first list of 184 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections that is to be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19 with the results to be announced on May 23.

Senior BJP leader J P Nadda in Delhi said that the party has finalized the names of all 17 candidates in Bihar but will be announced in a day or two in Patna in the presence of all three members of the NDA including Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal – U and Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

Though no official word has been out in the case of disgruntled party MP from Patna Saheb Shatrughan Sinha, it is widely reported that he would soon be partying ways with the BJP and contest from the same Patna Saheb seat on a Congress ticket going head on against widely-speculated senior party leader and sitting Rajya Sabha MP Ravi Shankar Prasad.

A formal announcement for Bihar seats could come as early as Friday morning, said a BJP insider.

Meanwhile, with reports of chaos within the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)-led Grand Alliance in Bihar, party de facto president Tejaswi Yadav denied any confusion within the Mahagathbandhan saying the alliance was very much intact and a formal announcement of seat-sharing and names of candidates would be announced in the next few days.

Initial reports say while the RJD would keep 18 of the 40 seats for itself, Congress is expected to get 11 while remaining 11 seats will be shared between Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP), and other smaller parties in the Grand Alliance.


View Your Patna

Due to worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, PatnaDaily is running in a restricted mode as our reporters and photographers remain indoor due to the recent nationwide lock-down. We will resume full service as soon as possible. Stay safe and thanks for your patience.
Toggle Bar

Latest Comments