NDA in Bihar Releases Names of Candidates for the Lok Sabha Polls

NDA in Bihar.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Saturday announced the names of 40 Lok Sabha candidates in Bihar with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Janata Dal – U each contesting on 17 seats each while Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) to field its candidates on six seats.

With Shatrughan Sinha effectively sidelined by the Modi-Shah duo and Sinha all but gone from the BJP, Central Minister and party national spokesperson Ravi Shankar Prasad is now poised to face the former film star who is widely speculated to be running from the same Patna Saheb seat from where he was elected to the Parliament in the last two Lok Sabha elections.

Prasad thanked the party leadership on his Twitter account for giving him a chance to fight election from his home town.

Bhupendra Yadav, BJP in-charge of Bihar elections announced the name of candidates in Patna on Saturday.

Below is the name of 39 candidates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Candidate for the Khagaria seat is yet to be decided.

Valmiki Nagar – Baidyanath Prasad Mahto (JD-U) – formerly in BJP
West Champaran – Dr. Sanjay Agrawal (BJP)
East Champaran – Radha Mohan Singh (BJP)
Sheohar – Rama Devi (BJP)
Sitamarhi – Dr. Varun Kumar (JD-U) – formerly in RLSP
Madhubani – Ashok Kumar Yadav (BJP)
Jhanjharpur - Rampreet Mandal (JD-U) – formerly in BJP
Supaul – Dileshwar Kamait (JD-U) – formerly in Congress
Araria – Pradeep Singh (BJP) – formerly in RJD
Kishanganj – Mahmood Ashraf (JD-U) – formerly in Congress
Katihar – Dulal Chand (JD-U) – formerly in NCP
Purnia – Santosh Kumar Kushwaha (JD-U)
Madhepura – Dinesh Chandra Yadav (JD-U) – formerly in RJD
Darbhanga – Gopalji Thakur (BJP)
Muzaffarpur – Ajay Nishad (BJP)
Vaishali – Veena Devi (LJP)
Siwan – Kavita Singh (JD-U) – formerly in BJP
Maharajganj – Janardan Singh Sigriwal (BJP)
Saran – Rajiv Pratap Rudy (BJP)
Hajipur – Pashupati Kumar Paras (LJP)
Ujiarpur – Nityanand Rai (BJP)
Samastipur (SC) – Ramchandra Paswan (Lok Janshakti Party (LJP))
Begusarai – Giriraj Singh (BJP)
Khagaria – LJP – To be determined
Bhagalpur – Ajay Mandal (JD-U) - formerly in RJD
Banka – Girdhari Yadav (JD-U) – formerly in RJD
Munger – Rajiv Ranjan Singh (JD-U) – formerly in Lok Janshakti Party (LJP)
Nalanda – Kaushalendra Kumar (JD-U)
Patna Saheb – Ravi Shankar Prasad (BJP)
Pataliputra – Ram Kripal Yadav (BJP)
Ara – Rajkumar Singh (BJP)
Buxar - Ashwini Kumar Choubey (BJP)
Sasaram (SC) – Chhedi Paswan (BJP)
Karakat – Mahabali Singh (JD-U) – formerly in RLSP
Jehanabad – Chandreshwar Prasad Chandravanshi (JD-U) – formerly in RLSP
Aurangabad – Sushil Kumar Singh (BJP)
Gaya (SC) – Vijay Kumar Manjhi (JD-U) – formerly in BJP
Nawada – Chandan Kumar (LJP) – formerly in BJP
Jamui (SC) – Chirag Paswan (LJP)

Voters in Bihar go to polls in seven phases between April 11 and May 19, 2019.


View Your Patna

Due to worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, PatnaDaily is running in a restricted mode as our reporters and photographers remain indoor due to the recent nationwide lock-down. We will resume full service as soon as possible. Stay safe and thanks for your patience.
Toggle Bar

Latest Comments