First Phase of Lok Sabha Elections in Bihar Just Hours Away

Poll preparation in Bihar.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: After months of anticipation, high political rhetoric, and mud-slinging that is the hallmark of the Indian elections, the first phase of the seven-phased Parliamentary polls opens in Bihar on Thursday with more than 70 lakh voters deciding the fate of 44 candidates in Aurangabad, Jamui, Gaya, and Nawada constituencies.

Among the 44 candidates are former Bihar Chief Minister and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) party chief Jitan Ram Manjhi who would be facing Janata Dal – U’s Vijay Kumar Manjhi, and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) leader Chirag Paswan who is in direct contest with Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP)’s Bhudeo Chowdhary.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Sanjay Kumar Singh said that over 41,000 security officials have been deployed in the five constituencies since all four seats fall within hardcore Naxal strongholds.

Polls open at 7:00 am and end at 4:00 pm in Gaya though in some places it would close at 6:00 pm.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments

Guest Columns, Features, Lifestyle, Blog