Second Phase of LS Polls in the Book with 62.52% Turnout

Second phase of Lok Sabha elections in Bihar.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: The second phase of the seven-phased Lok Sabha elections came to an end on Thursday without any untoward incident except air-firing by the police in Banka to control some anti-social elements trying to intimidate voters and capture a booth in Shambugarh.

Overall, the voting turnout in the second phase was higher than in the first phase with the official number standing at 62.52%.

Voters started to arrive at their designated voting booths as early as 6:00 am to avoid rush. Polling was held in Katihar, Kishanganj, Purnia, Banka, and Bhagalpur – all strongholds of Muslim voters where Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could not open its account in any of these constituencies in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Constituency-wise, in Kishanganj, Janata Dal – U candidate Mahmood Ashraf is in direct contest with Dr. Javed Azad of Congress party while in Katihar former Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader now in Congress Tariq Anwar is faced against JD-U candidate Dulalchand Goswami.

In Bhagalpur, JD-U candidate Ajay Mandal is in direct contest with Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Bulo Mandal.

In Banka, RJD candidate and incumbent Jai Prakash Yadav is facing tough challenge from JD-U's Girdhari Yadav. Former BJP candidate from the same seat in 2014 Putul Kumari whose hopes to go to the Parliament were dashed in 2014 is once again in the race but this time as an independent candidate.

Finally, in Purnia, 2014 BJP candidate Uday Singh is now in the race as a Congress candidate who is going against incumbent JD-U candidate Santosh Kushwaha.

Third phase of the staggered polls in Bihar is scheduled for April 23 when people in Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura, and Khagaria will go to polls.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments

Guest Columns, Features, Lifestyle, Blog