Sixty Percent Voting in the Third Phase of Lok Sabha Polls

Voters at a polling booth in Araria in the third phase of the Lok Sabha polls on Tuesday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna; With 60% people casting their votes on Tuesday, the polling for the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections came to a peaceful conclusion without any major incident.

This is roughly 0.92% more than 2014 elections in the third round.

People went to poll at 9076 polling booths at five seats in Bihar including Madhepura, Supaul, Khagaria, Jhanjharpur, and Araria to determine the fate of hundreds of candidates including Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate and former Janata Dal – U president Sharad Yadav who is facing JD-U's Dinesh Chandra Yadav and Jan Adhikar Party (JAP) candidate Pappu Yadav from Madhepura.

From Supaul, it's Pappu Yadav's wife Ranjit Ranjan who is contesting on a Congress ticket while the newly-minted Mukesh Sahni of Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) faces Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) candidate Chowdhary Mehboob Ali Kaiser in Khagaria.

In Araria, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Pradeep Singh is in direct fight with RJD's Sarfaraz Alam and in Jhanjharpur, former Union Minister and Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Devendra Prasad Yadav is faced with JD-U's Rampreet Mandal and RJD's Gulab Yadav.

The largest voters' turnout was recorded in Supaul at 62.80% followed by Araria (62.34%), Madhepura (59.12%), Khagaria (58.83%), and Jhanjharpur (56.92%), officials said.

Nearly 90 lakh voters were eligible to vote in the third round.

The fourth phase of the seven-phased election will be held on April 29 at four seats in Bihar including Ujiarpur, Samastipur, Munger, and Begusarai.


View Your Patna

Due to worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, PatnaDaily is running in a restricted mode as our reporters and photographers remain indoor due to the recent nationwide lock-down. We will resume full service as soon as possible. Stay safe and thanks for your patience.
Toggle Bar

Latest Comments