Fourth Phase of Lok Sabha Elections in the Rear View

Voters line up at a polling booth in Samastipur district on Monday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: The fourth phase of the seven-phased Lok Sabha elections concluded peacefully at five seats in Bihar including Begusarai, Munger, Darbhanga, Samastipur, and Ujiarpur on Monday with the total voters' turnout recorded at 58.92%.

Barring some reports of EVM snafus, polls were by and large without any major incident.

Voters' turnout in Begusarai, where the eye of the nation is due to the fight between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) firebrand leader Giriraj Singh and the Communist Party of India (CPI) candidate Kanhaiya Kumar who has the backing of a large number of leftist Bollywood stars like Shabana Azmi and Javed Akhtar, was the largest among all at 61.27%.

Besides Singh and Kumar, other prominent candidates whose fates are being decided in the fourth phase of the polls are BJP state president from Nityanand Rai (Ujiarpur), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Tanweer Hassan (Begusarai), JD-U's Lallan Singh (Munger), criminal-turned-politician Anant Singh's wife Neelam Devi (Mokama), Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) president Upendra Kushwaha (Ujiarpur), RJD's Abdul Bari Siddiqui and BJP's Gopalji Thakur (both from Darbhanga), and from Samastipur, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) president Ram Vilas Paswan's brother Ramchandra Paswan and Congress leader Ashok Ram.
Altogether 66 candidates are in the race in the fourth phase of the elections.

Both Kanhaiya Kumar and Giriraj Singh put up a brave face at the end of the polling on Monday claiming the opposition party was going to be crushed this election cycle.

"We are going to win over 400 seats nationwide," said the BJP candidate while Kanhaiya Kumar predicted those who tried to degrade the image of Begusarai would be facing the biggest defeat of their life time.

Fifth phase of the polls are to be held at five Bihar constituencies including Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, and Hajipur on May 6.


View Your Patna

Due to worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, PatnaDaily is running in a restricted mode as our reporters and photographers remain indoor due to the recent nationwide lock-down. We will resume full service as soon as possible. Stay safe and thanks for your patience.
Toggle Bar

Latest Comments