Patna: The fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections at five constituencies in Bihar came to a peaceful end with voters' turnout estimated to be 57.86 percent, according to the Chief Election Officer (CEO) H R Srinivas.

Polls were held at 8899 booths in Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran and Hajipur where voters had to choose from a total of 82 candidates representing a number of parties in the fray.

Prominent among those whose fates are being decided in the fifth phase of the seven-phase staggered Lok Sabha polls are Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Rajiv Pratap Rudy who is pitted against Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)'s Chandrika Rai, the father-in-law of Lalu Prasad Yadav's son Tej Pratap Yadav, in Saran.

Pashupati Kumar Paras, the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) leader and the brother of LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan, RJD's Shiv Chandra Ram (Hajipur, Reserved seat); suspended Congress leader and independent candidate Shakeel Ahmed; BJP's Nityanand Rai and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) chief Upendra Kushwaha (Ujiarpur), and RJD's Raghuvansh Prasad Singh (Vaishali) are among others whose political futures are now locked in the voting machines.

While Muzaffarpur recorded the highest voters' turnout at 61.30 percent, Madhubani recorded the least at 55.50 percent.

Though no untoward incident was reported from anywhere, 29 people were booked at various polling booths for violating electoral code of conduct.

The sixth and seventh phases of the Lok Sabha polls are to be held on May 12 and May 19 respectively.

Poll results are to be announced on May 23.

Recent Comments