BJP, JD-U Candidates File Nomination Papers for Vidhan Parishad

BJP candidate for Bihar Legislative Council Radha Mohan Sharma filing his nomination paper in Patna on Tuesday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Radha Mohan Sharma and Janata Dal – U leader Sanjay Jha in Patna on Tuesday filed their nomination papers for the Bihar Legislative Council seat before the Assembly secretary Bateshwar Nath Pandey.

Both Sharma and Jha were nominated for the Council post by their respective party leaders on Monday. Tuesday was the last day to file the nomination papers.

Those present on the occasion included Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, Agriculture Minister Prem Kumar, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Shrawan Kumar, Road Construction Minister Nand Kishore Yadav, Member of Parliament R C P Singh and other NDA leaders.

JD-U nominee for Bihar Legislative Council Sanjay Jha filing his nomination paper in Patna on Tuesday.

Nomination papers will be scrutinized on Wednesday and candidates can withdraw their name by May 31. Formal announcement of the names of new MLCs will be declared the same day.

While Sharma's tenure will last till May 6, 2020, Jha will remain in his post till May 28, 2024.

With the inclusion of Sharma, the BJP will have 23 members in the Vidhan Parishad while the JD-U, with the inclusion of Jha, will have a total of 32. Altogether, in a 75-member Council, the NDA will have a strength of 56 members.

It may be recalled that the two seats were vacated following the election of JD-U leader Lallan Singh and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) leader Pashupati Kumar Paras into the Lok Sabha.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments