BJP, JD-U Leaders Take Oath of Office of Vidhan Parishad

New members of the state Legislative Council sworn-in on Friday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: The two nominees for the Bihar Legislative Council seats, Janata Dal – U's Sanjay Jha and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Radha Mohan Sharma, on Friday took the oath of the office after they were declared elected in the absence of any other claimant.

Following the expiration of the 3:00 pm withdrawal deadline, Jha and Sharma were inducted into the Bihar Vidhan Parishad by returning office and Assembly secretary Bateshwar Nath Pandey.

The two seats were lying vacant following the death of two legislators.

For Jha, this is the second time in the Legislative Council while for Sharma, it's the first time.

The term for Jha expires on May 6, 2024 while Sharma's term ends on May 6, 2020.

Later, the two new entrants in the Legislative Council met with Bihar Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Chowdhary and Legislative Council chairperson Haroon Rashid at their respective offices.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments