Eight JD-U Legislators Inducted into Bihar Cabinet; BJP Kept Out

Eight new JD-U leaders given oath of office in Patna on Sunday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: In what is being seen as a tit for tat against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leadership for snubbing Janata Dal – U during the formation of the new central government, eight JD-U leaders, at the behest of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, were added in the state cabinet with not one BJP leader in the latest expansion that took place on Sunday.

Like the BJP at the Center that had offered only one 'symbolic' cabinet position to a JD-U candidate that was promptly rejected by the Chief Minister despite his party having won 16 of the 17 seats in the Lok Sabha elections, the JD-U offered just one 'symbolic' position to the BJP in the state cabinet that was, as anticipated, also immediately turned down by the saffron party.

JD-U leaders being inducted in the Nitish cabinet in Bihar on Sunday.

On Sunday, Governor of Bihar Lalji Tandon administered the oath of office and secrecy to eight Janata Dal – U legislators including Neeraj Kumar, Shyam Rajak, Ashok Chowdhary, Sanjay Jha, Narendra Narayan Yadav, Beema Bharti, Lakshmeshwar Rai, and Ram Sevak Singh. BJP leader and Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi and other NDA leaders were present on the occasion.

Eleven positions in the ministry remain vacant and if sources are to be believed, they will also be filled by the JD-U leaders indicating the strain between the two allies just days after the announcement of Lok Sabha election results.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments