New Governor of Bihar Fagu Chauhan Sworn-in

Fagu Chauhan given oath of office as the new Governor of Bihar.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Fagu Chauhan, the successor of Governor Lalji Tandon, was sworn in at a simple ceremony at Raj Bhawan in Patna on Monday.

Mr. Chauhan, the 40th Governor of Bihar, was given the oath of the office by Patna High Court Chief Justice A P Shahi in the presence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, Bihar Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Chowdhary, former Chief Minister Rabri Devi, Patna Mayor Sita Sahu and a number of politicians and bureaucrats.

The oath ceremony began promptly at 11:30 am after the national anthem was sung. Chief Secretary Deepak Kumar read the letter of oath sent by the President of India as the Patna High Court Chief Justice completed the formality by administering the oath of secrecy to the new governor. The whole thing lasted about ten minutes.

The governor's wife and over 400 supporters of Chauhan from his constituency in Uttar Pradesh were also present in the guest gallery.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments

Guest Columns, Features, Lifestyle, Blog