NDA and RJD Nominees for Rajya Sabha File Papers

BJP candidates for Rajya Sabha file their nomination papers on Friday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: The three NDA Rajya Sabha candidates in Bihar filed their nomination papers in Patna on Friday in the presence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil and other Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Janata Dal-U leaders.

Those who filed their nomination included incumbents Harivansh and Ramnath Thakur of the Janata Dal-U and Vivek Thakur of the BJP.

Incidentally, Vivek Thakur is taking the place of his father and senior BJP leader Dr. CP Thakur who chose to give up his seat in favor of his son.

Five Rajya Sabha seats are going to be vacant in April. Three of them were occupied by Harivansh, Ramnath, and Kahkeshan Parveen of the JD-U while the other two were occupied by BJP's R K Sinha and Dr. CP Thakur.

According to the number of legislators by party in Bihar, both JD-U and RJD have two Rajya Sabha seats while the BJP has one.

Meanwhile, former Union Minister and RJD leader Premchand Gupta and social activist Amarendradhari Singh filed their nominations as RJD candidates for the remainder of the two Rajya Sabha elections.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments