RJD to Contest at 144 Seats in Bihar, Congress 70

RJD leader Tejaswi Yadav (file photo).

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Putting all speculations to rest about the Grand Alliance (Mahagathbandhan) Chief Ministerial face in Bihar, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) on Saturday announced that party’s de facto president Tejaswi Yadav will be its candidate for the Chief Minister post in the hope of replacing the incumbent occupant of the chair Nitish Kumar.

With another former ally Vikashsheel Insaan Party (VIP) poised to leave the Grand Alliance after given cold shoulder by the RJD in favor of Congress and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Tejaswi Yadav has kept 144 of the 243 seats for his own party while leaving 70 seats for the Congress and 29 seats for the left parties. JMM will get an untold number of seats from the RJD quota, party leaders said.

Earlier, VIP president Mukesh Sahni walked out of the coalition saying the RJD cheated in seat-sharing when it did not offer even a single seat to his party. This follows the departure of Jitan Ram Manjhi, the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), chief who, after being offered zero seats, walked out of the Grand Alliance only to go back to the NDA that he had abandoned just a few years ago.

“We have been a reliable partner of the Mahagathbandhan for the last many years and we feel cheated after being told we will not get any seat in the upcoming Assembly elections,” Sahni told the reporters.

Filing of the nomination papers began last Thursday with the last day of filing papers being October 8.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments