Expert in copying/pasting ideas and branding them as their own, India now has its own version of Twitter called – wait for it – Koo to deal with the ‘high-handedness’ of the US-based microblogging site owned and managed by 'evil' Jack Dorsey.

Following on the footprints of Parler, yet another wannabe Twitter social network designed to lure pro-Trump supporters after Twitter banned Donald Trump’s account following months of violation of its posting policies despite several warnings to him, Koo intends to tap the Indian market that would be pro-India and more importantly, pro-Modi.

The move comes after the government of India asked Twitter to block 1,178 accounts of those who it deemed pro-Pakistan and pro-Khalistan intended only to rile up social and economic upheaval in the country.

The request was denied by Twitter that said that the Government of India’s demand were “inconsistent with the Indian law” but was willing to restrict their access in India only while leaving it accessible in other parts of the world.

"We have withheld a portion of the accounts identified in the blocking orders under our Country Withheld Content policy within India only. These accounts continue to be available outside of India," Twitter said on its blog.

Twitter also insisted its principle of defending protected speech and freedom of expression.

“We have not taken any action on accounts that consist of news media entities, journalists, activists, and politicians. To do so, we believe, would violate their fundamental right to free expression under Indian law," it said.

Meanwhile, top BJP leaders and Central Ministers including IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and Railway Minister Piyush Goyal are urging Indians to adopt Koo in favor of Twitter.

“This will also help India in attaining its goal of becoming ‘Atmanirbhar’ as envisioned by the Prime Minister of India,” Prasad said.

Goyal, funnily enough, made his announcement of adopting Koo on Twitter:

Besides Goyal and Prasad, others in the government to join Koo are Members of Parliament Tejasvi Surya and Shobha Karandlaje, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa, and former cricketers Javagal Srinath and Anil Kumble, among others.