Patna: The disintegration of the Mahagathbandhan in Bihar continued three days after being destroyed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA as all three of Upendra Kushwaha's Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) legislators quit the party on Sunday and joined Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal – U.

Bihar Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Chowdhary, talking to reporters, confirmed that Lallan Paswan and Sudhanshu Shekhar, both Vidhan Sabha members, and Sanjeev Singh, Bihar Legislative Council Member, had written to him and the Legislative Council Deputy Chairperson Haroon Rashid expressing their desire to leave their party and join the JD-U.

"We have asked them to appear before the House personally so we can complete the formalities for them to become the JD-U members," Chowdhary said.

The resignation comes as a huge setback for Kushwaha who has always had his eyes on the Chief Minister's chair and had thought of himself as a better and bigger leader than Nitish Kumar, who he once called a friend before accepting the leadership of Tejaswi Yadav, the de facto leader of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

As recalled, Kushwaha had managed to wrestle five seats in the RJD-led Grand Alliance in Bihar. While he nominated his men for three seats, he kept two for himself. Not only all three of his candidates lost their bid, Kushwaha, who contested from Karakat and Ujiarpur, also failed to win from the either seat.

With pre-election rumors of Kushwaha allegedly selling party seats to the highest bidders, today's desertion by his only three legislators in the state house could effectively prove to be fatal for his party.

Recent Comments