Bettiah MP is the New Bihar BJP President

BJP leader Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal is the new Bihar party chief.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national president and Home Minister Amit Shah on Saturday appointed Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal, MP from Bettiah, as the new president of the Bihar BJP unit.

As recalled, the post had been vacant since the incumbent state president Nityanand Rai was elected to the Parliament and made a cabinet minister in the second Narendra Modi government at the Center.

Dr. Jaiswal is a three-time BJP MP from Bettiah. He was first elected in 2009 followed by his victories in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Representing the Vaishya community, Dr. Jaiswal's reputation is said to be squeaky clean and without any controversy, unlike a majority of leaders in all parties.

His father Madan Mohan Jaiswal was also an MP from the same seat.

With Assembly elections in Bihar to be held next year, Dr. Jaiswal's role in the state politics is expected to be extremely important particularly in view of the recent drum-beating by the BJP to replace Janata Dal – U leader Nitish Kumar from his Chief Minister's post with a BJP face.


View Your Patna


Latest Comments